Do you get IP Banned or Acct Banned on Steam

Crazycat542

Expert
Dang i ask so many questions. (Ima noob)

On to the question
I was wondering on steam such as playing CS:S you get VAC banned, do you get IP banned or your acct just get banned. Or all of the accts u havev get banned.

Sry im a noob :p just curious on recent FPS games i get banned....:pensive: and i wasnt hacking so i thought i would play on one and leave one as a backup.

InsaneMatt

Expert
VAC bans your STEAM ID on a "per engine" basis. Meaning if you get banned on TF2, ALL games using the SOURCE engine will also be banned - You can still play on non-secured VAC servers though.

If VAC has banned you, I would FORMAT - it's detected something that's editing the memory. That's either a virus/trojan or a hack/trainer you had open at the time of launching a game.... Remember, VAC does a delay ban of up to 2 weeks so it can "tag" as many people as possible (and thus making it harder for cheaters from updating their code).

As I said above, FORMAT if you are going to create a new account (remember you can't transfer games to another account, so you will have to re-buy them!).

Of course, if you are banned from a server by a Admin, you are only banned from THAT server - VAC bans are global and are automatically applied.

OP
C

Crazycat542

Expert
So. if i get banned its based on the Engine. Awkward but good enouph. So that means if i get banned on ANY accounts it wont effect the other ones i have. (If that makes any sense at all)

InsaneMatt

Expert
Assuming the hack/trainer/virus/trojan isn't active at the time of an account being used, it wont get VAC banned - even if another account was from the same machine.

Think of it as mulitple accounts to this forum... If one is deleted/banned, the other isn't effected.

I would still recommend a FORMAT just to be safe - if you don't know what caused the original banning, thus it could happen again with the new one.

OP
C

Crazycat542

Expert